Friendships Are Always Open

Have to say I didn’t think I was going to blog today but a moment arose that made me want to write this. …Friendships.

Throughout life we make friends some that last a lifetime and some that last a moment, we will meet new people and form bonds with people we don’t expect especially after becoming a Christian but what really inspired me to write this was the friendships you have before becoming a Christian.
I have to say that since I have been suffering from this anxiety/panic disorder I’ve suffered so many bits of bad news that without God in my life I would never have gotten through.  My fathers good friend who moved from Northern Ireland to Alabama had been diagnosed with Asbestosis, might not seem a big deal but he contracted it while working with my father over here, which meant my dad would have to be tested for it. I love my dad he’s a big part of my life and a big part of my faith, he inspires me with his unfailing trust in God, so to suddenly think he could be diagnosed with a potentially fatal disease added to my worries. Learning of my uncles cancer that is terminal was a shock and my wife’s granddad was in hospital for months not knowing whether he was going to make it or not. He was also diagnosed with terminal cancer, which was awful to take especially for my wife but to then find out it was misdiagnosed and he was going to be fine was a mix of emotions, with my anxiety and panic on top it was a tough time.

During this period it wasn’t that I didn’t want to see my friends it’s just anyone will tell you who has been through it. Getting yourself better is what you need to do. Now I had become a Christian previous to my mental health issue but because I hadn’t seen everyone in a while, I had changed and changed for the better and I’m still changing. My wife and I were/are  growing closer to God and that’s our choice. It’s a big decision to make, it’s tough to tell people at first because they are used to you the way you are.
It was actually scary to first say it for a few weeks, its only natural because your human instinct is what will people think of you? Will they treat you different?

One of the things we learned was that not everyone will understand what its like to turn your life another direction and some people will think your different and not want to be around you but one thing is for sure our love never fades for the friends or people that don’t understand, we just hope that they will in time. We don’t do the things we used to but we still have fun and Christians aren’t boring in fact i have had my eyes opened to a world I never thought existed until before I was saved. I could tell you stories of things I’ve experienced and how prayers have been answered. My dad being given the all clear 2 days ago and my wife’s Grandad getting out of hospital and showing signs of improvement in his health, my wife starting the job she’s been waiting for since graduating university are just a few.  God has been good to us.

What I encourage is if you have questions is ask us? Just because we are born again doesn’t mean we are weird or odd. Some of our friends have taken it better than others which we are grateful for that they treat us the same and we accept that change is hard for everyone but we are patient.

The thing is we will always be there for our friends, we will always accept them and we trust God to work things out for the best. I’m not better so sometimes I don’t feel like doing things and need to rest, it’s a rollercoaster. If God needs me strong for his plans then that’s what I got do.

The Bible teaches us to love one another and accept one another for we are all made in Gods image, so when you don’t accept someone your basically slapping God in the face.  We pray for our friends every night and thank God for our friends and pray for their protection and safety.

If any of our friends are reading this, just know we love you and our arms will always be open for you.

GOD BLESS

About bornagainblogger

www.bornagainchild.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friendships Are Always Open

  1. Bridget Gibson says:

    Beautifully written. I’ll be writing on friendships later tonight. 🙂 It’s amazing to see how friends tend to change when you go back to the Lord. May God always be good to you.
    God Bless.

  2. Thank you. Strange thing like would love to read yours. God Bless

Leave a Reply

